Fall Welcome Plaque!

I am still transitioning my house to fall decor. Today I started to decorate in the dining room. I was in need of an item to place on my mirror ledge. I will explain what my mirror ledge is in my next post on decorating the dining room, but today I want to show you the “Welcome” Plaque I made. I was looking through the current fall decorations that I have and nothing was working for this place. I came across an old Halloween plaque that I used in the past and decided I could re-purpose this plaque to fit my decor. Here is the plaque before the transition.

My family loves this plaque, they used to ask why the “Witch” was always in. Remember I lived with 5 boys, so there was usually much reason for the “Witch” to be in. I decided to use the back of the plaque to make a fall welcome plaque and I still would have the original plaque in case I could ever use it again. I painted the back of the plaque with some paint that I had on hand.

I than printed out the lettering to use for the plaque and used trace paper to transfer the lettering to my plaque. I did not trust my free hand to do this type of work.

There is trace paper underneath the white sheet of paper.

I than traced around the outside of each letter.

This one is very hard to see the lettering.

Next step is to paint the lettering, using black paint.

I decided to use some fall plastic leaves that I had on hand to decorate the ends of the plaque. I used Mod Podge to adhere the leaves to the plaque.

I also added some pine cones and buckeyes.

I will share with you on my next post where I used my re-purposed Welcome plaque.

Sharing with:

Thrifty Decor Chick

DIY Showoff

Baxtron Life

House on the Way

Between U & Me

Under the table and dreaming

Crafty Scrappy Happy
Hubby Made Me
too much time on my hands

Sew Chatty

Modvintagelife

Eye Heart

Debbiedoo's

TCHQ Blog Hop
It’s overflowing
I heart nap time
Photobucket

Tilly’s Nest
DIY Dreamer
In the Old Road
Debbiedoo’s

9 thoughts on “Fall Welcome Plaque!

  1. What a great idea to use the back of the plaque to make a new sign! Love it!! Thanks for stopping by my blog, I appreciate your kind comment.

    Andrea (Funsize Creations)

  2. Pingback: Catch as Catch Can 93 - My Repurposed Life™

I would love to hear your feed back, thoughts and opinions. Please leave your comments here.