Dining Room Holiday Decorations 2012!

It is hard to believe that “1” more week and it will be Christmas Eve. Christmas Eve is when we get together with my husband’s family. The evening starts with the family service at church and then all come to our house for a meal and to exchange and open gifts. This is such a fun family time because my sister-in-law still has young children. Being entertained by the little ones is always such a blessing. Here is my dining room before all the family arrives.

Christmas Decorating
I like to keep my table simple. I don’t set up place settings and all the decorating fluff. We use this table everyday to eat dinner, so no fluff here.

Christmas Decorating
My favorite feature in my dining room is this mirror. It was an outside window, so all the trim is original to the home. I love changing the ledge for the change of seasons.

Christmas Decorating
I made the red table runner that is on the buffet table. I used some left over deco mesh from my sons “graduation party table decorations” and purchased some gold fabric and fringe. Sewing the deco mesh was not an easy task. I am not very good at sewing so why on earth did I decide to use the most difficult of materials. Here is the picture of the materials I used. I was going to do a tutorial and decided it best that I not share this project since the stitch lines were not the best. It looks really pretty with the gold fabric showing through the deco mesh, but it was a “B” bear.

Deco Mesh Table Runner

Christmas Decorating
The ornaments hanging from the Joy stocking holders were a last-minute addition. I used a glass heart ornament from my “pretty tree,” and made the “Zipper Christmas Tree Ornaments.” You can click on each of them to read more about them.

Christmas Decorating
The vases on the mirror ledge I filled with broken candy canes, branches from my yard and some red berry stalks that I had from a previous mantel decoration. I love when you can use resources that are inexpensive, like candy canes or you already own.

Christmas Decorating
Since I was going for the red and white theme on my buffet table. I needed to make a few small purchases. This year I purchased the 2 smaller tress at a goodwill store knowing that I had the larger one. I love how the three of them look together with the varying sizes. I purchased the mints and the red and white glitter ornaments form Wal-Mart. The candle center piece and the red stack boxes were all items that I had from a previous year.

Christmas Decorating

Christmas Decorating

signature

Christmas DecoratingChristmas Decorating
Sharing with:
the NY Melrose Family
Savvy Southern Style
Primp
I gotta Create
DIY crafty projects
Vintage on a Dime
Practically Functional
Rae Gun Wear
Sew Much Ado
Earning my Cape

5 thoughts on “Dining Room Holiday Decorations 2012!

  1. Pingback: Decorating the Entryway! « DesignedDecor

I would love to hear your feed back, thoughts and opinions. Please leave your comments here.