DIY: Painted Jars and Bottles

I first saw this idea on Pinterest from http://theforgestyle.blogspot.com/2011/11/diy-yarn-wrapped-painted-jars.html

I loved the idea, so I decided to give it a try.   Once a month a group of friends get together for GNO – (Girls Night Out).  Each month one person is in charge of planning the GNO.  April was my month, so I decided we were going to do this DIY.  The DIY had to be easy for all the ladies to do, because with GNO comes wine, food and fun.

I will be giving you the step by step instructions so you can do this at home yourself.  This was a very easy project to carry out, as all the ladies were able to complete even after a few glasses of wine!

Here is the finished picture of some of the pieces.

DIY- Spray painted glass bottles using rubber bands

Materials needed:

Glass jars or bottles

Rubber bands in varying thickness

Spray Paint – I used “Frosted” by Valspar

Newspaper

Materials needed

1.  Arrange rubber bands around the glass jar.  You can add as many as you like.  I had some of my rubber bands going in angles to add interest to the design.

Glass with rubber bands wrapped around the project

2.  Spread newspaper to protect work area.  I recommend to spray paint outside in a well ventilated area.

3.  Shake paint can very well before using

4.  Apply a nice even coat of spray paint to all areas of glass.  Do not hold can to close to glass or too long in one spot.  If you do this, your paint will begin to drip.  Let dry for 15 to 30 minutes.  Reapply spray paint for second coat.  Allow to dry for 1 hour.

Project after paint was sprayed on the glass

5.  Remove rubber bands from glass.

6.  May need to use a blade to clean some areas of glass.  Some of the areas have extra paint where the rubber bands were removed.  Lightly scrape these areas with blade to remove extra paint buildup.

Project after rubber bands were removed

7.  Place a candle inside and enjoy your DIY project.

Advice:  Use a coaster below your project to protect the surface from getting to hot and damaging your wood surface.

I hope you enjoy your spray painted candle or vase for many candle lit nights.   The GNO project was a huge hit and all the ladies loved the final outcome of their glass bottles.  I forgot to take a picture of the ladies completing their glass bottles.  I was having too much fun helping, instructing and tipping the glass.  Sorry, I forgot!

Completed spray painted glass bottles

Loving, creating, blogging, selling!

22 thoughts on “DIY: Painted Jars and Bottles

  1. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read more things about it!

  2. Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of
    information on your page. Im really impressed by your site.

    Hi there, You have done an incredible job.
    I will definitely digg it and individually suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they will be benefited from this site.

  3. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

  4. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what you had to say,
    and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  5. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great blog!

  6. Can i simply say lots of aid to discover someone who actually knows what theyre
    speaking about online. You positively know how you can convey an issue to
    mild making it important. Extra folks must learn this and understand
    this facet inside the story. I cant imagine youre you
    can forget well-liked since you positively provide the gift.

  7. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea
    shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to
    her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  8. certainly like your web site however you need to
    check the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find
    it very troublesome to inform the reality however I’ll surely come back again.

  9. I do not even know how I finished up right here, however I believed this put up was once good.

    I do not recognise who you are however definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger should you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  10. It creates exposure and helps you in building trust and community.
    Write an expert article: Write an article which provides intelligent and expert analysis on the
    subjects related to your website. With their organic search engine optimization techniques your site can come top of
    popular search engines.

  11. Your style is unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.

    Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark
    this web site.

  12. Hey would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot
    quicker then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at
    a honest price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

  13. Helpful information. Lucky me I found your website unintentionally, and I am shocked why this coincidence didn’t came about earlier!

    I bookmarked it.

  14. Hello there, just became alert to your blog
    through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue
    this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  15. I think this is among the most significant info for me. And i’m glad reading your
    article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is great, the articles is really great : D.
    Good job, cheers

I would love to hear your feed back, thoughts and opinions. Please leave your comments here.

