Decorating Glass Blocks!

I love to repurpose construction glass blocks into a great night-light or a holiday decoration. I choose to repurpose the construction blocks over buying the plastic ones from the craft store. I feel it serves a greater purpose by recycling instead of buying new. I have several blocks that I have purchased from various garage sales or that my neighbor had given me (Thanks Megan). I want to share a step by step tutorial on how to decorate your glass block.

Supplies needed:

Construction Glass Block

1/2 inch diamond hole saw

drill

magic bubble liquid

glitter

20 light strand of lights

various decorations for outside of block

ribbon

Step 1: Drill a hole in side of block with a 1/2 inch diamond hole saw. This is a type of saw to cut glass.

Tip: I place my glass block in the slop sink so I can run a steady stream of cold water over the block and the drill. This keeps the drill and the glass cool, which prevents cracking of the glass. I have cut(and broke) my fair share of blocks and wine bottles and I have found the cold water is the trick.

Step 2: Rinse the inside the block, rinse as much of the residue out from the inside of the block. It takes a long time for the inside of the blocks to dry. Tip: I bake the block in my oven at 170 degrees for 2 hours. The inside of the block will be completely dry after baking and letting cool.

Step 3: I squirt a fair amount of magic bubble liquid in the inside of the glass block. I turn and shake the block until all sides have been evenly coated with the liquid. I than drain any extra liquid.

Step 4: Pour glitter of your choice into the glass block. Shake and turn the block until all sides are evenly covered. Tip: I use a small funnel to pour the glitter into the small opening of the glass block.

Step 5: Place glass block into oven and bake @ 170 for another 2 hours, let cool completely.

Step 6: Insert light string into opening of glass block. Tip: I test the lights before inserting into glass block.

Now we are ready to decorate the outside of the glass block.

Step 7: Clean the outside of glass block with a cleaner to remove dirt and finger prints.

Step 8: Glue the metal glitter ornament(or decoration of your choice) on the glass block surface, let dry.

Step 9: Seal the block with Modge Podge to seal all the glitter from metal ornament and to give extra protection to the outside of the block.

Step 10: Wrap ribbon around outside of block, tie at top. Make a pretty bow and place at top of block.

I have made various versions of lighted glass blocks, and I want to share them with you.

All the above glass blocks and a few more selections are available in my Etsy shop. These glass blocks make a great addition to a room or for the holidays.

Sharing with:
DIY dreamer
House on the way
Chef in Training
Savy Southern Style
Reasons to skip the housework
The little giggler
Craft Scrapy Happy
Redoux
DIY Dreamer
Funky Junk Interiors
Sew Licious
Craftaholics Anonymous

6 thoughts on “Decorating Glass Blocks!

  1. Pingback: SHOW-licious Craft Showcase #5 |

  2. Pingback: Craftaholics Anonymous® | 28 Christmas Craft Projects

I would love to hear your feed back, thoughts and opinions. Please leave your comments here.

